To content
Welcome to the Research Group

Urban development, land use planning and design processes

The Research Group of Urban Development, Land Use Planning and Design Processes deals with current issues of urban development, the transformation of city and landscape and the restructuring processes of entire urban quarters and individual locations in teaching and research. At the chair urban planning, land use planning and design processes are integratively linked with each other. Research and teaching focus on the development and communication of spatial and, above all, urban design qualities and their implementation.
For the transformation and intergenerational justice of urban and rural living environments, urban planning and land use planning are essential components for the spatial shaping and design of spatial planning and urban development. As two sides of the same coin, urban planning and land use planning form the basis of the built environment we experience every day: the physical and social quality expressed in space and the normative determination that conditions it. Spatial planning operates at the intersection between engineering and social sciences. Urban design, in turn, constitutes the interface with artistic and creative disciplines. For us, it is crucial to educate on these interfaces and to advance the integration of interdisciplinary perspectives in research but also in teaching.
  • Inter- and transdisciplinarity: Urban design is already an interdisciplinary field in which spatial and urban planners have a cross-sectional function. In order to accomplish the ongoing task of transformation, cities and regions must be understood as a common intersection of the many disciplines involved. In view of the differentiating landscapes of actors and specifications, this function must be further developed on the basis of a multi-layered disciplinary understanding. Thus, we at the research group Urban Design Unit (SBP), rely on inter- and transdisciplinary teaching and research constellations.
  • Process design: Equally important is the ability to communicate purposefully in this intersection. A processual understanding of urban design and land use planning will increasingly be an essential qualification of people working with cities, space and planning. In dealing with future challenges such as climate adaptation, demographic change, digitization, sustainability, environmental and equal opportunity, knowledge of process design is essential, especially with regard to transversal, i.e. broadly accessible and participatory planning procedures and the associated actors and forms of cooperation. It is important to understand these complex interrelationships in order to be able to intervene them in an innovative and future-oriented way.

Location & approach

The campus of the Technical University of Dortmund is located near the freeway junction Dortmund West, where the Sauerland line A45 crosses the Ruhr expressway B1/A40. The Dortmund-Eichlinghofen exit on the A45 leads to the South Campus, the Dortmund-Dorstfeld exit on the A40 leads to the North Campus. The university is signposted at both exits.

The "Dortmund Universität" S-Bahn station is located directly on the North Campus. From there, the S-Bahn line S1 runs every 15 or 30 minutes to Dortmund main station and in the opposite direction to Düsseldorf main station via Bochum, Essen and Duisburg. In addition, the university can be reached by bus lines 445, 447 and 462. Timetable information can be found on the homepage of the Rhine-Ruhr Transport Association, and DSW21 also offer an interactive route network map.

One of the landmarks of the TU Dortmund is the H-Bahn. Line 1 runs every 10 minutes between Dortmund Eichlinghofen and the Technology Center via Campus South and Dortmund University S, while Line 2 commutes every 5 minutes between Campus North and Campus South. It covers this distance in two minutes.

From Dortmund Airport, the AirportExpress takes just over 20 minutes to Dortmund's main train station, and from there, the S-Bahn takes you to the university. A wider range of international flight connections is offered by Düsseldorf Airport, about 60 kilometers away, which can be reached directly by S-Bahn from the university's train station.

Interactive map

The facilities of TU Dortmund University are spread over two campuses, the larger Campus North and the smaller Campus South. Additionally, some areas of the university are located in the adjacent "Technologiepark".

Campus Lageplan Zum Lageplan

Campus Weather

Weather Information
Open weather forecast

Zum Inhalt
Herzlich willkommen beim Fachgebiet

Städtebau, Bauleitplanung und Stadtgestaltungsprozesse

Das Fachgebiet Städtebau, Bauleitplanung und Stadtgestaltungsprozesse beschäftigt sich in Lehre und Forschung mit aktuellen Fragestellungen der Stadtentwicklung, mit dem Wandel von Stadt und Landschaft, mit Umstrukturierungsprozessen ganzer Stadtquartiere und einzelner Standorte. Am Fachgebiet werden Städtebau, Bauleitplanung und Stadtgestaltungsprozesse integrativ miteinander verknüpft. Die Er- und Vermittlung räumlicher und vor allem städtebaulicher Qualitäten und deren Umsetzung stehen dabei im Fokus Forschung und Lehre.
Für die Transformation und Generationengerechtigkeit städtischer und ländlicher Lebensumfelder sind Städtebau und Bauleitplanung essentielle Bestandteile für die räumliche Ausprägung und Gestaltung von Raumplanung und Stadtentwicklung. Als zwei Seiten derselben Medaille bilden Städtebau und Bauleitplanung die Basis der gebauten Umwelt, die wir tagtäglich erleben: die sich im Raum ausdrückende physische und soziale Qualität und die sie bedingende normative Festsetzung. Raumplanung operiert an der Schnittstelle von Ingenieur- und Sozialwissenschaften. Städtebau wiederum bildet die Schnittstelle zu künstlerisch-kreativen Disziplinen. Für uns ist es entscheidend, diese Schnittstellen entsprechend auszubilden und die Integration interdisziplinärer Perspektiven in Forschung aber auch in der Lehre voranzutreiben.
  • Inter- und Transdisziplinarität: Städtebau ist heute schon ein interdisziplinäres Feld in dem Raum- und Stadtplaner*innen eine Querschnittsfunktion einnehmen. Um die andauernde Aufgabe der Transformation zu bewerkstelligen müssen Städte und Regionen als gemeinsame Schnittmenge vielfältiger damit befasster Disziplinen verstanden werden. Angesichts sich ausdifferenzierenden Akteurslandschaften und Spezifizierungen gilt es diese Funktion auf Basis eines vielschichtigen disziplinären Verständnisses weiter auszubauen. Am Fachgebiet StädteBauProzesse setzen wir daher auf inter- und transdisziplinäre Lehr- und Forschungskonstellationen.
  • Prozessgestaltung: Ebenso wichtig ist die Fähigkeit in dieser Schnittmenge zielführend kommunizieren zu können. Ein prozessuales Verständnis von Städtebau und Bauleitplanung wird zunehmend eine wesentliche Qualifikation von mit Stadt, Raum und Planung beschäftigten Menschen sein. Im Umgang mit den zukünftigen Herausforderungen wie Klimaanpassung, demographischer Wandel, Digitalisierung, Nachhaltigkeit, Umwelt- und Chancengerechtigkeit ist das Wissen über Prozessgestaltung insbesondere im Hinblick auf transversale, d.h. breit zugängliche und mitwirkungsoffene Planungsverfahren sowie der damit verknüpften Akteure und Kooperationsformen wesentlich. Es gilt diese komplexen Zusammenhänge zu verstehen, um in diese innovativ und zukunftsgewandt eingreifen zu können.

Kalender

Zur Veranstaltungsübersicht

Anfahrt & Lageplan

Der Campus der Technischen Universität Dortmund liegt in der Nähe des Autobahnkreuzes Dortmund West, wo die Sauerlandlinie A45 den Ruhrschnellweg B1/A40 kreuzt. Die Abfahrt Dortmund-Eichlinghofen auf der A45 führt zum Campus Süd, die Abfahrt Dortmund-Dorstfeld auf der A40 zum Campus-Nord. An beiden Ausfahrten ist die Universität ausgeschildert.

Direkt auf dem Campus Nord befindet sich die S-Bahn-Station „Dortmund Universität“. Von dort fährt die S-Bahn-Linie S1 im 15- oder 30-Minuten-Takt zum Hauptbahnhof Dortmund und in der Gegenrichtung zum Hauptbahnhof Düsseldorf über Bochum, Essen und Duisburg. Außerdem ist die Universität mit den Buslinien 445, 447 und 462 zu erreichen. Eine Fahrplanauskunft findet sich auf der Homepage des Verkehrsverbundes Rhein-Ruhr, außerdem bieten die DSW21 einen interaktiven Liniennetzplan an.
 

Zu den Wahrzeichen der TU Dortmund gehört die H-Bahn. Linie 1 verkehrt im 10-Minuten-Takt zwischen Dortmund Eichlinghofen und dem Technologiezentrum über Campus Süd und Dortmund Universität S, Linie 2 pendelt im 5-Minuten-Takt zwischen Campus Nord und Campus Süd. Diese Strecke legt sie in zwei Minuten zurück.

Vom Flughafen Dortmund aus gelangt man mit dem AirportExpress innerhalb von gut 20 Minuten zum Dortmunder Hauptbahnhof und von dort mit der S-Bahn zur Universität. Ein größeres Angebot an internationalen Flugverbindungen bietet der etwa 60 Kilometer entfernte Flughafen Düsseldorf, der direkt mit der S-Bahn vom Bahnhof der Universität zu erreichen ist.

Interaktive Karte

Die Einrichtungen der Technischen Universität Dortmund verteilen sich auf den größeren Campus Nord und den kleineren Campus Süd. Zudem befinden sich einige Bereiche der Hochschule im angrenzenden Technologiepark.

Campus Lageplan Zum Lageplan

Campuswetter

Wetter-Informationen
Zur Wetterprognose